Just Desserts

I can’t decide if I feel bad or not about not blogging for so long.  I kinda feel like I’m neglecting you.

But then I realize that you too have lives and understand when things just get crazy and you don’t remember what happened to your days and you can’t remember the last time you wrote but you’re pretty sure it was too long ago and you’re just really really happy that you remember to brush your teeth and shower daily (almost – well, about the showering at least.  I skipped on Sunday.  I promise my teeth are brushed twice a day.)

I had this great idea for a blog last weekend about farmer’s market shopping and meal planning.  I’m really not very good at it, but I actually planned ahead this time and it was great!  Of course, this is the first week I’ve done it, and since it’s only Tuesday perhaps I should wait until the end of the week to see if I’m actually successful and then share with the world.  I did take a picture of my pretty shopping list/meal plans and I promise to share that once I get to computer that lets me download things.

But today, I’m exhausted and I really don’t want to talk about being organized.  I want to talk about dessert.

My Friday evenings are usually spent cooking a relatively elaborate dinner for myself and last Friday I decided that I needed dessert as well.  I found recipes on Pinterest and went to work!

My new favorite blog is PaleOMG.  Juli is hilarious, and writes fantastic recipes.  I usually do a little altering (as I always do), but mostly because she makes enough food to feed an army (she’s a crossfitter, she’s allowed) and I like to throw in a little greens or other veggies in when I can.  Friday night I made Pumpkin Cream Chicken Casserole but took out the spaghetti squash (I didn’t have one) and added a chopped head of swiss chard.  It was good, but I’m not really into pumpkin.  I think next time I’ll use a can of sweet potato or butternut squash puree and use garam masala as the spice.  (Side note, Sunday night I made Pistachio Pesto Chicken Pasta and it was AMAZING! You should make it!)  But what I really wanted was dessert.

One of my favorite restaurants in town, Magpie, has an avocado chocolate mousse that I’ve been curious about for years.  I love chocolate, I love avocados, but something just doesn’t seem right about pairing them together.  So, back to Pinterest, and I found this great recipe on The Kitchn.  I figured, what the heck?  I had all the ingredients and if I didn’t like it all it cost me was an avocado and a little time.

OMG!  It was AMAZING.  Seriously.  I don’t like chocolate flavored things (I’m discovering after going processed food free that it’s processed chocolate, like cookies and cakes, that I don’t like) and this was the best thing ever.  Light and airy, but still rich and decadent.  Wow.  And super easy.

You can find about a million ways of making this when you google it, but here’s how I did it (From the Kitchn):

1 avocado (use a soft one)

3 tbsp cocoa powder of choice (I used raw cacao, because that’s what I had from the cookies the week before) – try adjusting this, it might be a bit too bitter for your taste.  Start with a few tablespoons.

2 tbsp raw organic honey (I’m really lucky and have honey from my stepdad’s brother’s bees.  It’s rich and delicious without being sweet.  Use whatever you’d like here, but please make sure it’s real honey!) By the way – many recipes use Stevia, raw sugar or other sweetener.  I think you can use whatever you’d like.

1 small splash of vanilla extract

1 splash of coconut milk beverage

Here’s what you do: Halve the avocado and put in the food processor.  (No pit, obviously.)  Add a splash of milk of choice to get the thing moving (I used my So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage with probiotics that I always have in the fridge.)  Process until it’s smooth and creamy.  Add the cocoa powder, sweetener, extract and a pinch of salt.  Process again until it looks like chocolate pudding.  It only takes a few minutes.

I topped mine with sliced strawberries (I love spring!) and it was DIVINE.  I never say that.  It makes me sounds 100 years old.  But it was really, really good.

Last night I needed something sweet again and I still haven’t gotten around to making these.  Instead I took a carton of plain coconut yogurt, topped it with about 3 sliced strawberries (watching my sugar), a tablespoon or so of allergen free chocolate chips, and a tablespoon of shredded coconut.  Another winner!  Really, really good, and super simple.  And really good for me.  I am so excited to find desserts that are healthy!  This is amazing stuff!

What about you?  What are your favorite healthy desserts?  Or do you just say F it and eat a whole tub of ice cream?

2 responses

  1. I once made avocado frosting on green tea cupcakes. Pretty good. I think I’d better try this tasty mousse next! (p.s. Don’t feel too bad about the blogging. Happens to everyone.)

  2. I just spent two days at a conference and while just eating is tough enough (I did okay until lunch today where there was nothing gluyen/dairy free) desserts are the worst. These beautiful little cups of creme brulee, custard with fruit garnish, flan, chocolate mousse just make my mouth water. I always have a dark chocolate bar with me but it’s just not the same.

Leave a Reply

