Authentic

Do you ever feel like the universe is trying to send you a message?

Not a little message like “It’s cold, you should wear a coat!” but a big-ass HUGE message – screaming, blinking lights, the whole bit?

Yeah, I think it’s happened to all of us.  And if it hasn’t happened to you yet, don’t you worry my friend.  It will.  That is something that I’ve learned in my 32.5 years of living.

Sometimes it’s a bad thing – you’re being told to avoid something, that something is bad.  Those are usually the things that I ignore.  I’ve also found it’s easier to ignore these things when I’ve had a few drinks.  Or it has to do with a man.  Both alcohol and men can make a girl think stupid.

But sometimes, if you really pay attention, the universe tells you something wonderful.

Lately, I’ve been trying to pay attention.  And even though I’ve been slackin’ on the yoga and meditation this week, there are blinking lights everywhere.

“Just be you.”

Last time I wrote about trying too hard – this concept is totally related.  When you stop trying so hard to be something or somebody you aren’t you really free yourself to just be yourself.  There aren’t any other options.

This message has come to me in so many ways the past few weeks that I can’t even tell you all of them.  But I did just tell a coworker who was complaining about something that somebody else said about us to just stop – we have no control over what someone else says about us. They were being authentic.

Isn’t that a great word?  Authentic.  I love it.

I’m not saying this is easy or that I’m perfect at this.  But I’d rather be imperfect at being me than perfect at being somebody else.

Ding Ding Ding! Light bulb going on!

Have a lovely weekend, my friends.  I’ll tell you all about the amazing authentic thing I’m doing next week.

In the meantime, read this:

http://www.daniellelaporte.com/creativity-art-design-articles/its-not-too-late-to-be-you-and-why-i-changed-my-site-name/

and this (from my lovely and amazing friend Genna) – http://totallyperfectme.blogspot.com/2012/03/one-smile.html

And maybe listen to this, not because it’s related but because it’s absolutely beautiful – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQ8gjtMYEA4

Leave a Reply

