How to get through writer’s block, or, what to do when tragedy strikes

I’ve been thinking for a long time about what I am going to write about next.

I’ve been thinking so long about this, that it became weeks, and then months in between posts.  I never forgot about it, it just never happened.

Life just, you know, happened.

So what happened in those few weeks?  Two of my dear friends got married and had a rockin’ wedding.  I ran a two week summer program for nearly 100 13 and 14 year olds.  I spent five days in musical bliss at High Sierra Music Festival, my happy place.  I saw good friends.  I drank good wine.

In short, I lived.

I think we start on this “self help” journey – whether it be spiritual, academic, or physical (or all of the above), we have a tendency to get so caught up in the end product that we forget that we’re here to just live.  It’s the journey.

I know I forget that a lot. I’m so worried about the end product  (“Am I getting better?” “Am I making the right choices to achieve x, y and z?”) that I forget that it’s the process that really counts. (Did you read the article I posted yesterday?  This really helped me.)

And then something happens and you forget all about that.

I will admit, that I’ve been thinking about this for the past week or so.  And then this happened.  It’s shocking that someone would choose to take so many lives.  And for what?

I am deeply saddened by this.

But something else weird happened today. I am in a spectacular mood.  Like sparkly and smiley and just plain ol’ happy.  I’ve been in a rather crummy mood all week.  It’s hard to figure out how these feelings can coexist.

I guess the only way to do it is to just live.  You never know what’s going to happen tomorrow.  And really, it shouldn’t matter.

So, today, I’m going to take deep breaths.  I’m going to send out love to the whole world, because I think we all need it.  I’m going to smile.  I’m going to hold on to a few cute babies.  I’m going to tell my friends and family that I love them.  (Friends and Family!  I love you!)  And I’m going to stop worrying about the end result, because really, what else matters?

2 responses

  1. Just found this quote on Facebook – it seems perfect.

    I offer you peace. I offer you love. I offer you friendship. I see your beauty. I hear your need. I feel your feelings. My wisdom flows from the Highest Source. I salute that Source in you. Let us work together for unity and love.

    Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a comment